There is growing interest in better understanding gluten free labeling in addition to an expansion of product offerings in stores and in restaurants. My Food and Family and Kraft Heinz recognizes that consumers are looking for gluten-free products for medical reasons or personal preference, and we are doing our part to accurately label our products and recipes to help interested individuals make informed choices.
Gluten is a group of proteins found in certain grains. It is comprised of proteins including gliadin and glutenin and is present in wheat, barley and rye, as well as triticale, spelt, kamut, mir, farina, and farro. Products and ingredients made from these grains, such as flours and starches, also contain gluten. Oats often come into contact with gluten-containing grains during agricultural growing and transportation. Therefore, if avoiding gluten, only purchase oats that are labeled “gluten free.” Common foods that typically contain gluten are pasta, couscous, bread, flour tortillas, cookies, cakes, muffins, pastries, cereal, crackers, oats, gravy, dressings, sauces and beer.
Certain people cannot properly digest and metabolize gluten due to a genetic condition called celiac disease. The gliadin component of gluten is problematic for these individuals. In the United States, an estimated 3 million people (about 0.8% of the population) are affected. It is generally recommended that individuals who are diagnosed with celiac disease follow a diet free from gluten.
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA), a government agency that sets food labeling regulations, established the definition for “gluten free” on foods and beverages in August 2013. To qualify for a gluten free claim, a food must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm). Similar terms such as “free of gluten,” “no gluten” and “without gluten” are viewed as synonyms and must meet this same standard. Gluten free is a voluntary claim that manufacturers may use. The FDA’s regulation applies to all foods and beverages (including packaged foods, dietary supplements, fruits and vegetables, shell eggs, and fish) except for:
Note: The USDA has not yet engaged in rulemaking on “gluten free” claims but is likely to consider the FDA’s definition.
We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to have accurate and specific information about foods to help them make informed choices and plan their meals and snacks. Our policy for all Kraft Heinz products is to list gluten-containing ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label. For labeling purposes, Kraft Heinz products made with:
There are plenty of ways to create delicious gluten free recipes at home. For a full list of recommendations related to gluten aware recipes, check out My Food and Family’s collection page. Try our delicious Rock Road Parfaits or make our Skillet Ratatouille for mealtime.
These gluten free labeling practices and tips are based on the Kraft Heinz’s approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by other manufacturers may differ. Note: Gluten-containing ingredients are highlighted in these examples for educational purposes (but not on the actual product label).
For more Healthy Living information and additional resources regarding gluten free labels and education on Celiac disease, be sure to check out the resources below:
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60606-6995
Celiac Disease Foundation
20350 Ventura Blvd., Suite 240
Woodland Hills, CA 91364